Chapter Zero NZ breakfast with Christopher Luxon

Due to high demand for this event, we have increased capacity at the venue. Get in quick to secure your place.

Hosted by Dame Therese Walsh, Chair of the Chapter Zero New Zealand Steering Committee, this breakfast event will feature a keynote address from Leader of the Opposition and the MP for Botany, Christopher Luxon.  Mr Luxon will share the National Party’s plans for addressing the climate challenge. 

The keynote will be followed by a director’s panel on the topic of board structure and composition (one of the fundamental principles of effective climate governance) with practical insights on how New Zealand boards are managing their approach to climate. 

Chapter Zero NZ Supporters receive a 20% discount for this event with the code SUPPORTER31MAR. It is free to become a Supporter, join now.

Table sales are available for this event for $992.00 incl. GST for a table of ten.  Subject to availability at the time of booking.  For enquiries or bookings, please contact Gemma Fellowes

Christopher Luxon

Christopher Luxon is the Leader of the Opposition and the MP for Botany. He entered Parliament at the 2020 election and was elected Leader of the National Party in November 2021.

Prior to entering Parliament, Christopher was Chief Executive Officer of Air New Zealand from 2013 to 2019. Under his leadership the airline delivered record profits and all time high customer satisfaction scores, and achieved its highest levels of staff engagement.

In addition Air New Zealand won numerous accolades, including several celebrating it as the best airline in the world and others recognising its commitment to key areas such as sustainability, innovation, corporate reputation, employee engagement and customer experience. During Christopher’s tenure, the company held the No. 1 Corporate Reputation & Trust Company in New Zealand 2015–2019 and No. 1 Corporate Reputation & Trust Company in Australia 2017–2019.

Prior to joining Air New Zealand, Christopher was President and Chief Executive Officer at Unilever Canada. This was one of several senior leadership roles he held during an 18 year career at the multinational that saw him work in roles in Europe, North America and Asia–Pacific. Christopher has a Master of Commerce in Business Administration from the University of Canterbury.

Christopher served as the inaugural Chair of Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern’s Business Advisory Council and has received wide recognition for his leadership including a Blake Leader Award, Deloitte CEO of the Year, Orient Aviation Person of the Year, and Deloitte Company of the Year.

Joan Withers CFInstD

Joan has been a professional director for more than 20 years and spent over 25 years working in the media industry, previously holding CEO positions at The Radio Network and Fairfax Media. In addition to her Chair role with The Warehouse Group, Joan is also a director of ANZ Bank NZ Limited, Origin Energy Limited and Sky Network Television Limited. Joan has previously held Chair positions at Television New Zealand Limited and Auckland International Airport.

Joan is a Trustee of the Sweet Louise Foundation and is Chair of a steering committee working to increase the percentage of South Auckland Maori and Pacific Island students taking up roles in the health sector.

Joan holds a Masters Degree in Business Administration from The University of Auckland. She is also a University of Auckland Distinguished Alumni (2015). Joan is the author of "A Girl's Guide to Business" which was published by Penguin Books in 1998 and “A Woman’s Place” which was published by Penguin-Random House in 2017.

Joan was awarded the New Zealand Shareholders Beacon Award in 2014, in 2015 she was named Supreme Winner in the Women of Influence Awards and was named as Chairperson of the Year at the Deloitte Top 200 Management Awards.

Mark Verbiest CFInstD

Mark is an experienced company director, currently serving on the boards of several major companies and organisations. Mark is the Chair of Meridian and Summerset Group Holdings Limited and is a director of ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited (Director). He is also the former Chair of Freightways Limited, Spark New Zealand Limited and Transpower New Zealand Limited. He is a former board member of the Financial Markets Authority and former member of the Advisory Board to New Zealand Treasury. Mark has had significant involvement and experience in the energy and technology sectors, as well as capital markets, in a variety of roles, over many years.

Mark is a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors and was named Chairperson of the Year in the 2022 Deloitte Top 200 Awards.


Scott St John CFInstD

Scott St John is the current Chair of Fisher and Paykel Healthcare. He is also a Director of ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited (ANZ NZ), Fonterra and Mercury Energy as well as a board member of the NEXT Foundation.

He was Chancellor of the University of Auckland from 2017 to June 2021 and a member of the University Council since 2009. Previously, Scott was a member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce, the Financial Markets Authority Establishment Board and the Security Industry Association, which he chaired.

In his professional capacity, Scott was the Chief Executive of First New Zealand Capital (now called Jarden) for 15 years and was a former stockbroker. He is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, a fellow of the Institute of Finance Professionals of New Zealand and a Chartered Fellow of the Institute of Directors and a member of the Chapter Zero NZ Steering Committee. 

Cathy Quinn ONZM CMInstD

Cathy Quinn was appointed Chair of thl in June 2022 and serves on all of thl’s Board Committees. Cathy is a former senior corporate partner at MinterEllisonRuddWatts. She served as the firm’s Chair for eight years during a period of transformation and growth. Cathy is a Director of Fletcher Building Limited, Fonterra Co-operative Group Limited, Rangatira Limited and is Chair of Fertility Associates. Cathy is also Pro-Chancellor of the University of Auckland. Cathy is a former member of the NZ Securities Commission and Capital Markets Development Taskforce, and was made an Officer of the NZ Order of Merit in 2016 for services to law and women. 

Dame Therese Walsh DNZM CMInstD

Dame Therese Walsh is an independent director and Chair of Air New Zealand Ltd. and ASB Bank Ltd. and a director of Antarctica New Zealand. She is a former Chair of TVNZ Ltd., Pro Chancellor of Victoria University Wellington, a Director of NZX Ltd., Contact Energy Ltd., NZ Cricket and Save the Children NZ and Trustee of the Wellington Regional Stadium. In her professional capacity, Dame Therese was Head of New Zealand for the ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup, Chief Operating Officer for Rugby New Zealand 2011 Ltd and Chief Financial Officer at the New Zealand Rugby Union and part of the team that worked on the winning bid to host Rugby World Cup 2011. For her services to sport, she was made a Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2015. She was named the supreme winner of the Women of Influence Awards 2013 and awarded a Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Award in 2014. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.


Kristyn Chandler-Yates
National Sponsorship and Events Manager

+64 027 207 2592